Author Topic: Server Hosting?  (Read 5509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

May 20, 2015, 08:51:00 AM
Read 5509 times

MicroDude

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi,

Quick and simple. I want to add a new software that needs to be hosted on a server, is there currently any way to do this?

Weee, i just wanted to test this, weeee!!

May 20, 2015, 09:33:54 AM
Reply #1

simmond4

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Quick and simple answer - add <Server>#</Server> to a feature of the software.

For instance, AntiVirus, for the virus database is <Server>0.75</Server>, and OS auto-update is <Server>0.5</Server>

May 20, 2015, 10:27:48 AM
Reply #2

MicroDude

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Thanks for a quick answer Simmond4  :D

Anyone care to quickly explain what the 0.75 would stand for ? Is this server load or what? 3:

:o

May 20, 2015, 12:39:52 PM
Reply #3

Anasasi

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Making more software to make more... software..?
    • View Profile
You would be correct Micro. :)

May 25, 2015, 09:18:46 PM
Reply #4

ItsMeCarsen

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 66
  • SOCCER 4 LYFE
    • View Profile
    • CTastic
I put the # symbol in the server of a new software, in the features place, and at the beggining of the game it said that the value # was not recognized? Help
Carsen Ebert

I love the passion and the heart you have. Keep your progress high and life will reward you. Desire Success as much as you need air. Live life to the fullest ~ Carsen Ebert

May 25, 2015, 09:39:16 PM
Reply #5

amensch

  • *****
  • Information
  • Member
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 149
  • Live a life worth remembering.
    • View Profile
I put the # symbol in the server of a new software, in the features place, and at the beggining of the game it said that the value # was not recognized? Help

....instead of the # you have to put the server load in. For example: a OS-AutoUpdate is 0.5, the max. load of a single server(the oldest one) is 1, the max. load of the one that comes in year 2000 is 4. So, if you make for example a streaming software(like me :) )than I would put more than only 1 or 2, I put 26 or something like that...
With a big serverfarm (recommend to make it under the ground) you can have a way over 300!

Examples:
      <Feature Forced="FALSE">
         <Name>Basic</Name>
         <Description>Basic Streaming, either 360px or 240px</Description>
         <DevTime>2</DevTime>
         <Innovation>1.2</Innovation>
         <Usability>2</Usability>
         <Stability>0.9</Stability>
         <CodeArt>2</CodeArt>
         <Unlock>1989</Unlock>
         <Server>18</Server>
         <Dependencies>
            <Dependency Software="Operating System">Networking</Dependency>
            <Dependency Software="Audio Tool">Audio playback</Dependency>
            <Dependency Software="Video Player">Basic Player</Dependency>
            <Dependency Software="Operating System">GUI</Dependency>
         </Dependencies>
      </Feature>

This featur only needs a server load of 18, so 18 small server.
You want more Software types and Scenarios? http://softwareinc.coredumping.com/forum/index.php?topic=114.msg472#msg472

May 25, 2015, 09:51:26 PM
Reply #6

ItsMeCarsen

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 66
  • SOCCER 4 LYFE
    • View Profile
    • CTastic
I put the # symbol in the server of a new software, in the features place, and at the beggining of the game it said that the value # was not recognized? Help

....instead of the # you have to put the server load in. For example: a OS-AutoUpdate is 0.5, the max. load of a single server(the oldest one) is 1, the max. load of the one that comes in year 2000 is 4. So, if you make for example a streaming software(like me :) )than I would put more than only 1 or 2, I put 26 or something like that...
With a big serverfarm (recommend to make it under the ground) you can have a way over 300!

Examples:
      <Feature Forced="FALSE">
         <Name>Basic</Name>
         <Description>Basic Streaming, either 360px or 240px</Description>
         <DevTime>2</DevTime>
         <Innovation>1.2</Innovation>
         <Usability>2</Usability>
         <Stability>0.9</Stability>
         <CodeArt>2</CodeArt>
         <Unlock>1989</Unlock>
         <Server>18</Server>
         <Dependencies>
            <Dependency Software="Operating System">Networking</Dependency>
            <Dependency Software="Audio Tool">Audio playback</Dependency>
            <Dependency Software="Video Player">Basic Player</Dependency>
            <Dependency Software="Operating System">GUI</Dependency>
         </Dependencies>
      </Feature>

This featur only needs a server load of 18, so 18 small server.
You want more Software types and Scenarios? http://softwareinc.coredumping.com/forum/index.php?topic=114.msg472#msg472
Ok :) Thanks alot :D

And Just wondering, I havent tried it out yet, but did the InHouse work, like could there be contract work with File Readers?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2015, 03:44:40 PM by ItsMeCarsen »
Carsen Ebert

I love the passion and the heart you have. Keep your progress high and life will reward you. Desire Success as much as you need air. Live life to the fullest ~ Carsen Ebert

May 27, 2015, 04:53:23 AM
Reply #7

Boss Sauce

  • *
  • Information
  • Member
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Quote
....instead of the # you have to put the server load in. For example: a OS-AutoUpdate is 0.5, the max. load of a single server(the oldest one) is 1, the max. load of the one that comes in year 2000 is 4. So, if you make for example a streaming software(like me :) )than I would put more than only 1 or 2, I put 26 or something like that...
With a big serverfarm (recommend to make it under the ground) you can have a way over 300!
This featur only needs a server load of 18, so 18 small server.

If I remember the wiki rightly, it says the value is multiplied by popularity and does not actually represent the server load.

Quote
A value indicating how much server hosting power this feature requires. It is scaled with DevTime and popularity, so it should probably be somewhere between 0 and 1.
Proud owner of the ModSauce! Check it out below!
http://softwareinc.coredumping.com/forum/index.php?topic=129.0